Quick Links



The NWRI E-newsletter is published periodically and distributed to those interested in issues related to water resources. It usually contains general announcements related to events and forthcoming publications. Click here to access past E-Newsletters.



March 16, 2017, E-Newsletter


Available Now: New Report Offers Guidance for Onsite Water Systems


A report by National Water Research Institute (NWRI) recently released by the Water Environment & Reuse Foundation (WE&RF), "Risk-Based Framework for the Development of Public Health Guidance for Decentralized Non-Potable Water Systems," offers guidelines to assist public health officials in developing programs to manage and oversee onsite water systems.  NWRI administered an expert panel under a project sponsored by WE&RF, Water Research Foundation and San Francisco Public Utilities Commission, to provide peer review of the technical, scientific, and regulatory aspects of onsite water systems.  The 148-page report offers information that can be used by local and state regulators such as county public health agencies to permit installations, and by local utilities and developers to inform the process to design and implement onsite systems.  The report may be downloaded for free at https://www.werf.org/a/ka/Search/ResearchProfile.aspx?ReportId=SIWM10C15.



Nominations for 2017 Clarke Prize Award Due April 15 


Nominate someone who has demonstrated excellence in water research for the twenty-fourth annual Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize, an honor that includes $50,000 and a medallion. Nominations will be accepted until April 15, 2017. Nomination guidelines and cover sheet are available at http://www.nwri-usa.org/nominations.htm.  The recipient must be able to attend this year’s Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Conference, which will be held October 19-20, 2017, in Irvine, California. More information is available at www.clarkeprize.com.


Three sponsorship opportunities are available. The “Gold” level is valued at $2,500, the “Silver” at $1,000, and the “Bronze” at $500. For more information about becoming a sponsor, email Eileen Chao at echao@nwri-usa.org.



Clarke Prize Laureate David Sedlak to Speak on Local Water Supplies at UCI (Apr 20)


Professor David Sedlak, who was awarded the NWRI Clarke Prize in 2014, will discuss local water supply options that might serve as cost-effective alternatives to imported water in California on April 20, 2017, at University of California, Irvine (UCI).  The talk, “The Local Water Transition for California Cities,” will examine the technological and institutional challenges associated with the next stage of demand management, water reuse, and stormwater harvesting.  Sedlak is the Malozemoff Professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at University of California, Berkeley, co-director of the Berkeley Water Center, and deputy director of the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Reinventing the Nation’s Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWIt).  For more information or to register for the free event, go to http://water.uci.edu/event/david_sedlak/.



2017 WateReuse California Conference to Begin on Sunday (Mar 19-21)


The 2017 WateReuse California Annual Conference will be held March 19-21, 2017, in San Diego, California.  Advance registration is closed, but attendees may register for the conference onsite.  The three-day event will feature more than 60 technical sessions on recycled water policy, operations, technology, and public perception.  Highlights include a welcome reception at the House of Blues San Diego, Awards Luncheon and Annual Membership Meeting, and the annual Gordon Cologne Breakfast.  Conference participants can register for an optional tour of the Pure Water San Diego and Claude “Bud” Lewis Carlsbad Desalination Plant.  More information is available at https://watereuse.org/news-events/conferences/2017-watereuse-california-annual-conference/.



Water UCI to Host “Chinatown” Film Screening and Discussion (Apr 11)


Water UCI will host a free screening of “Chinatown” at the University of California, Irvine (UCI), on April 11, 2017.  The film is a retelling of how Los Angeles acquired rights to the Owens Valley’s water and diverted it to the city.  Afterwards, a panel of UCI professors and staff will discuss questions raised by the film, including:  How are cities and water drawn together?  How is the harnessing of water as much about politics and power as engineering?  Who should control water, and for what purpose?  To register or for more information, go to http://water.uci.edu/events/.



Free EPA Webcast on National Aquatic Resource Surveys (Mar 23)


The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) will host a free two-hour webcast on March 23, 2017, to discuss conditions in the nation’s lakes and flowing waters, based on recent findings of the National Aquatic Resource Surveys.  These collaborative surveys are conducted by the EPA, states, and tribes to sample rivers, streams, lakes, wetlands, and coastal waters across the nation.  The probability-based statistical design of the surveys is meant to provide consistent and unbiased information on biological conditions and key stressors in our waters.  More information is available at https://www.epa.gov/watershedacademy/watershed-academy-webcast-seminars.



AMTA Now Offering Grants, Scholarships, and Stipends (due June 1)


Students pursuing research in membrane technology are invited to apply for a range of grants, fellowships, scholarships, and stipends now offered by the American Membrane Technology Association (AMTA).  AMTA recently received funding from the Affordable Desalination Collaboration, a California nonprofit whose mission is to advance knowledge and understanding of the costs of desalination.  The funds, which total $10,000 per year, are available for graduate-level research fellowships, undergraduate research funding, and AMTA event registrations.  For more information, including the application form and guidelines, go to http://www.amtaorg.com/amta-grants-scholarships-and-stipends.



Apply Now for AWWA Summer Internship in Washington, DC (due Mar 29)


Undergraduate and graduate students are encouraged to apply to intern this summer in the American Water Works Association’s (AWWA) Government Affairs Office in Washington, DC.  Congress, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and other executive branch agencies are the focus of most of AWWA's efforts in governmental affairs.  Staff closely coordinate activities through the Water Utility Council to develop action programs to initiate, evaluate, respond, and comment within the framework of AWWA policies on legislative, regulatory, and other matters that affect water utilities.  Applications must be submitted by March 29, 2017.  More information is available at https://www.awwa.org/resources-tools/career-center/jobseeker.aspx?activeview=jobdetails&joblistingid=15351



Submit a Biofilm Abstract for ACS Fall Meeting and Expo (due Mar 20)


The American Chemical Society (ACS) is now accepting biofilm-related abstracts for its 254th ACS National Meeting and Exposition, to be held August 20-24, 2017, in Washington, DC.  The event will feature a symposium focused on biofilms and the impact of materials on biofilm properties.  Researchers are invited to submit abstracts on a range of topics, including biofilm-material interactions, material modifications to alter biofilm behavior, biofilm measurements, and applications of biofilms. Abstracts must be submitted by March 20, 2017.  For more information or to submit an abstract, go to https://callforpapers.acs.org/dc2017.