top of page
Clarke Prize logo 4_centered.png

About the Clarke Prize

The Clarke Prize is awarded annually to thought leaders in water research, science, technology, or policy in the United States. 


Clarke Prize nominees and laureates are from wide-ranging disciplines including civil and environmental engineering, water science, biological science, health science, political science, physical and chemical science, and public planning and policy. These people are focused on water quality, quantity, technology, or public policy.

The Clarke Prize is distinguished by the International Congress of Distinguished Awards as one of the most prestigious water awards in the world.

Clarke Prize 25th Anniversary

Clarke Prize 25th Anniversary

Play Video

Joan Irvine Smith and
Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke


"Nothing is more important than the careful stewardship and development of our water resources." NWRI's co-founder, Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke said these important words because she recognized the vital importance of water in Southern California.

Since the prize was established more than 25 years ago, the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke Foundation has supported some of the most influential people in the water industry. (Read about them on the Past Clarke Prize Laureates page.)

Recipients receive a medal and $50,000 US.

Joan Irvine Smith
Athalie R. Irvine Clarke

Joan Irvine Smith

Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke

bottom of page